Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Great Mex Grill. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

You are submitting your information to Great Mex Grill and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Melissavalencia25174 8 days ago

3 Taquitos Plate

Great food! We also ordered the tacos special (we went Friday) and the customer service and food was great. Been a customer since I went to CSULB and I'm glad to see the same level of service during this crisis :) keep up the good work!

Simsim7899 14 days ago

3 Taquitos Plate

Had the nachos with Al Pastor. Once of the best places around that makes the best Al Pastor. Nachos were hot, fresh and great. Good amount for the price and the food is always prepared to order.

Christopherarial 21 days ago

Flauta

These flautas are so delicious. If you like taquitos, meet its sophisticated older brother. The flautas are crispy and so flavorful. I love this place and cant wait to go back on my next California trip!

Michellerose1213 about 2 months ago

Shrimp or Fish Taco

I am a bit of a shrimp taco snob and I am very particular on where I got to eat these... Great Mex is one of these places. They are the perfect size with just the right amount of flavor!! And the sauce... how could you forget about the sauce?!?! If you are a shrimp taco fan than this is the spot that you have been waiting your whole life for!

Dlhicks1973 about 2 months ago

California Burrito

Love your place and I introduced my friends who were staying at NB dunes are now addicted to your food!

Reggie 2 months ago

Crispy Taco

We recently had a large order of Crispy Beef Tacos and Carne Asada Soft Tacos for my birthday. All was great!

Nicole 2 months ago

Soft Taco

I love Great Mex Shrimp tacos. They are the best.

Iluvslayer 2 months ago

Shrimp Quesadillas

I've had a lot of dishes at a lot of Mexican places. But if I'm craving shrimp I go here. The shrimp quesadillas are amazing. I've never tasted anything like it. The shrimp burritos are also ridiculous. So delicious, my mouth is watering just writing this review. Consist great quality thank you Great Mex bc the Super mex in our neighborhood puts all Super Mex to shame worst food ever embarrassing to their chain. That's how I ended up at your restaurant and have been a regular customer for 3 years now.

Catherine 2 months ago

Taco Salad

One of my favorite taco salads!!! Ingredients are always fresh.

Matt 3 months ago

Crispy Taco

amazing flavor, never over cooked. just right! meat is always so tender.

Jim 3 months ago

Fish Taco

Had the shrimp tacos great amazing food

Lo 3 months ago

2 Shrimp or Mahi Enchiladas Plate

The shrimp was PERFECT:)

Atempdomain 3 months ago

Mexican Tacos

These are the most delicious tacos ever! They're perfect little street tacos and taste like home. My favorite one are the carnitas but I love them all!

Dhildret 3 months ago

Shrimp or Fish Taco

I have fallen in love with the shrimp tacos! The shrimp is grilled to perfection. The slaw topping is fresh and complements the crunch of the grilled shrimp. But for me, the sauce makes it all come together. I think I could just drink the sauce it's that good. I add a little squeeze of lime and then I enter taste bud heaven. Well done Great Mex Grill!

Sikmomma 3 months ago

Crispy Taco

I absolutely loooooove your tacos! Your portion size is fantastic! Great value for the portions you offer.. your salsa is to die for, I could literally pour it on every bite!!!! Amazing!!

Silvabrostradingco 4 months ago

Shrimp Burrito

We discovered GM on one of our many trips to Balboa. The shrimp burrito is our goto. The shrimp is perfectly cooked but its the sauce that makes it. We make the 45 minute drive just to get one.

Amysue131 4 months ago

Bunuelitos (Cinnamon Chips)

We have to get Bunuelitos whenever we are here! So good! Love Taco Tuesday and Friday! Everything is always fresh and great customer service.

Chelsea 4 months ago

Breakfast Quesadilla

Great place for breakfast burritos get it with the eggs over easy you won't be mad or breakfast quesadillas i am big fan of their food! Especially the red hot sauce!

Jaramillo 4 months ago

Enchilada

My family loves Great Mex! Great food with generous portions allows us to soak up the flavors while feeding the whole family! I usually go for the Enchiladas, but every thing I've tried down to the salsas are good.

Personfam 4 months ago

Carne Asada Steak or Carnitas Pork

The food here is phenomenal. Added bonus is my favorite salsa in the world

Ajr817 11 days ago

Soft Taco

Great Mex is one of the biggest things I miss about living in Costa Mesa. We went there every Friday night for tacos y cerveza! Best chips and salsa as well. Best part of my week. Whenever I am in the area, I always make a stop at Great Mex for my fix!

Freshopensky 17 days ago

Bean Burrito

We LOVE to order the burritos filled with beans and rice. You it's *unbelievable* how flavorful they are - and so filling. My boyfriend is 6'6 and not scrawny, and these fill *him* up. The salsa is amazing too. We've gone back several times for it, we crave it, and I WISH I knew how to make this at home for the times when we can't make it to the restaurant. (We don't live near enough to one - maybe a Great Mex Grill cookbook could be on its way?!!) I don't care who you are or what you normally eat. We're plant based and vegan, but *anyone* will love these. (We haven't always been - we know how to throw. down.) Trust me, they're AMAZING. Try them!

Marciaink about 2 months ago

Crispy Taco

Love their Friday night tacos! Food I like and my kids like. My daughter likes their rice and beans with a side of tortillas for make your own tacos. The California burrito is also tasty. Haven't had anything bad here!

Oscarandmeyer about 2 months ago

California Burrito

The California burrito never disappoints! Even better, the staff is always incredibly friendly & appreciative of every customer!

Dani about 2 months ago

California Burrito

So tasty! I've been coming for years, and while I also love the Taco Tuesday special and their Torta Sandwich, I can't get enough of the California Burrito. This burritos is filled with good Carne Asada, fries, guacamole and sour cream. The portion is great and I'm constantly craving it. Great deal without trying to add any bells and whistles.

Kelly 2 months ago

Beans

10 stars

James 2 months ago

Shrimp Cocktail

I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this place! Food is Great ! Fantastic atmosphere! You should try it. Give it a try !! Price is reasonable.

Pparkerschall 2 months ago

Breakfast Sandwich

I've been coming here for the past 5+ years with my dad and grandparents and we always get the exact same thing, the breakfast burrito. I didn't see it on the list, so I selected the sandwich, but by far my favorite thing on the menu is their breakfast burrito. The way all the ingredients are blended together is such a wonderful combo that I've never seen anywhere else. Also, sometimes when I'm not in a Mexican food feeling, I get the great Mex combo I think. It comes with a cheeseburger, fries, and drink for I think 5 or 6 bucks! It was a great price for a great and unexpected food item. :)

John 3 months ago

Taco Salad

Great and filling

Alexa 3 months ago

Taco Salad

This is my favorite taco salad by far! I've been ordering it for the last five years and the quality has always been amazing. Pro tip: Add grilled shrimp to it and you will not be disappointed!

Debiscroggins 3 months ago

3 Taquitos Plate

Always good and staff is always helpful. My favorite lunch place

Laura 3 months ago

Ceviche Tostada

YUM, so fresh, so good

Hollywalblay 3 months ago

Shrimp or Fish Taco

We ordered from here for Cinco de Mayo and I will definitely be ordering again. The soft Shrimp Tacos were to die for! Everything was so fresh and the cabbage and sauce made the taco so juicy. Portions were filling and rice and beans were on point. I highly recommend! My only negative was that we ordered for an office and all the tacos were just packed into one container. No bueno. No one wants people touching all over their food (especially during a pandemic) and trying to figure out who ordered a steak or chicken taco. Other than that, it was delicious.

Sofiaacuna121 3 months ago

Shrimp Cocktail

I have lived in the neighborhood for 15 years & this location has ALWAYS been my go to! I would suggest it to anybody! Amazing food and never anything less! Amazing presentation & fantastic customer service/hospitality!!! I will forever recommend you guys to family, friends, and anybody I come across! Thank you great mex ❤️

Rozwoelm 4 months ago

Enchilada

We had cheese enchilada plate, chile relleno plate and crispy chicken taco. All were excellent in our opinion. We will definitely go back. Rice and refried beans are really good as well.

Downontheperryfarm 4 months ago

Carne Asada Steak or Carnitas Pork

Friday is our special night to eat out but since the Corona virus, we can't but wanted to support this local business so we ordered food to pick up! Carne Asada Steak plate, ceviche and a fish taco with rice and beans. It was so delicious! I am a connoisseur of ceviche and try to find the best and this was the best! It was the right balance of flavors and plenty of cilantro. We look forward to ordering again soon on a Friday (or Tuesday) night! Thank you for staying open and working hard during this challenging time.

Shookmeridith 4 months ago

El Mexicano Omelette

I love Mexican food so why not eat them for breakfast too? I had no complaints, the sides were just as good as the omelette. I recommend asking for extra cheese but that is just me. Thanks for a great breakfast great mex!

Julimartin322 4 months ago

Shrimp or Fish Taco

I LOVE the shrimp tacos! Every time I have a friend visit me in Newport Beach I bring them to Great Mex. Amazing food, amazing location by the beach!

Caitlyn 4 months ago

The Slim Burrito

The slim burrito is my favorite all around breakfast meal! I live so close to the Costa Mesa location on Newport Blvd and I love to quick grab and go this delicious burrito before work! The amazing thing about GREAT MEX is that they are fast at delivering, always clean, have an amazing salsa bar, and their food is top noch quality in taste! (OH! And I never leave without getting horchata!!!) Thank you GREAT MEX for making Mexican food special for me!

Personfam 4 months ago

California Burrito

Whenever I am away from home, the first meal I get is a California Burrito! I've never had any bad meals at great mex



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA