Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Great Mex Grill. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

James 2 days ago

Shrimp Cocktail

I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this place! Food is Great ! Fantastic atmosphere! You should try it. Give it a try !! Price is reasonable.

Pparkerschall 5 days ago

Breakfast Sandwich

I've been coming here for the past 5+ years with my dad and grandparents and we always get the exact same thing, the breakfast burrito. I didn't see it on the list, so I selected the sandwich, but by far my favorite thing on the menu is their breakfast burrito. The way all the ingredients are blended together is such a wonderful combo that I've never seen anywhere else. Also, sometimes when I'm not in a Mexican food feeling, I get the great Mex combo I think. It comes with a cheeseburger, fries, and drink for I think 5 or 6 bucks! It was a great price for a great and unexpected food item. :)

Matt 7 days ago

Crispy Taco

amazing flavor, never over cooked. just right! meat is always so tender.

Jim 11 days ago

Fish Taco

Had the shrimp tacos great amazing food

Lo 17 days ago

2 Shrimp or Mahi Enchiladas Plate

The shrimp was PERFECT:)

Atempdomain 28 days ago

Mexican Tacos

These are the most delicious tacos ever! They're perfect little street tacos and taste like home. My favorite one are the carnitas but I love them all!

Dhildret 28 days ago

Shrimp or Fish Taco

I have fallen in love with the shrimp tacos! The shrimp is grilled to perfection. The slaw topping is fresh and complements the crunch of the grilled shrimp. But for me, the sauce makes it all come together. I think I could just drink the sauce it's that good. I add a little squeeze of lime and then I enter taste bud heaven. Well done Great Mex Grill!

Sikmomma about 1 month ago

Crispy Taco

I absolutely loooooove your tacos! Your portion size is fantastic! Great value for the portions you offer.. your salsa is to die for, I could literally pour it on every bite!!!! Amazing!!

Silvabrostradingco about 1 month ago

Shrimp Burrito

We discovered GM on one of our many trips to Balboa. The shrimp burrito is our goto. The shrimp is perfectly cooked but its the sauce that makes it. We make the 45 minute drive just to get one.

Amysue131 about 2 months ago

Bunuelitos (Cinnamon Chips)

We have to get Bunuelitos whenever we are here! So good! Love Taco Tuesday and Friday! Everything is always fresh and great customer service.

Chelsea about 2 months ago

Breakfast Quesadilla

Great place for breakfast burritos get it with the eggs over easy you won't be mad or breakfast quesadillas i am big fan of their food! Especially the red hot sauce!

Jaramillo about 2 months ago

Enchilada

My family loves Great Mex! Great food with generous portions allows us to soak up the flavors while feeding the whole family! I usually go for the Enchiladas, but every thing I've tried down to the salsas are good.

Personfam about 2 months ago

Carne Asada Steak or Carnitas Pork

The food here is phenomenal. Added bonus is my favorite salsa in the world

Baret about 2 months ago

California Burrito

Love this burrito! Best Cali burrito in town.

Micaeladecardenas 2 months ago

Shrimp or Fish Taco

I absolutely love the shrimp 🍤 tacos at Great Mex!!!! The grilled shrimp, spicy sauce and cabbage are the perfect combo. Best shrimp tacos in the world.

Hbkari 2 months ago

California Burrito

It was perfect.We love your food & the staff!! We were photographed eating your food for Reuters. https://www.reuters.com/news/picture/top-photos-of-the-day-idUSRTS37P4T

Bazanjunior32 2 months ago

Carne Asada Fries

Best carne asada fries i had in a while! Got me coming back at least one or twice a week ! Thank you

Arctic1865 2 months ago

Cheese Chile Relleno

Love all their food. Always great and friendly staff. So many goods choices.

Sarah 2 months ago

With shrimp or grilled Mahi-mahi fish

Grilled fish burrito is delicious! Spicy and fresh, packed with flavor. Get it every time, never disappoints!

Hoffandfriends 3 months ago

Shrimp or Fish Taco

One of the best tacos I have ever had. The baja sauce and shrimps are so good. Go on Taco Tuesday and Taco Friday and load up with every taco there is. Make sure you get the crispy shredded beef too. Enjoy with cheap beer and the best company (servers and Billy Joe Armstrong). Shoutout to Veronique!

Iluvslayer 4 days ago

Shrimp Quesadillas

I've had a lot of dishes at a lot of Mexican places. But if I'm craving shrimp I go here. The shrimp quesadillas are amazing. I've never tasted anything like it. The shrimp burritos are also ridiculous. So delicious, my mouth is watering just writing this review. Consist great quality thank you Great Mex bc the Super mex in our neighborhood puts all Super Mex to shame worst food ever embarrassing to their chain. That's how I ended up at your restaurant and have been a regular customer for 3 years now.

John 6 days ago

Taco Salad

Great and filling

Alexa 7 days ago

Taco Salad

This is my favorite taco salad by far! I've been ordering it for the last five years and the quality has always been amazing. Pro tip: Add grilled shrimp to it and you will not be disappointed!

Debiscroggins 11 days ago

3 Taquitos Plate

Always good and staff is always helpful. My favorite lunch place

Laura 22 days ago

Ceviche Tostada

YUM, so fresh, so good

Hollywalblay 28 days ago

Shrimp or Fish Taco

We ordered from here for Cinco de Mayo and I will definitely be ordering again. The soft Shrimp Tacos were to die for! Everything was so fresh and the cabbage and sauce made the taco so juicy. Portions were filling and rice and beans were on point. I highly recommend! My only negative was that we ordered for an office and all the tacos were just packed into one container. No bueno. No one wants people touching all over their food (especially during a pandemic) and trying to figure out who ordered a steak or chicken taco. Other than that, it was delicious.

Sofiaacuna121 about 1 month ago

Shrimp Cocktail

I have lived in the neighborhood for 15 years & this location has ALWAYS been my go to! I would suggest it to anybody! Amazing food and never anything less! Amazing presentation & fantastic customer service/hospitality!!! I will forever recommend you guys to family, friends, and anybody I come across! Thank you great mex ❤️

Rozwoelm about 1 month ago

Enchilada

We had cheese enchilada plate, chile relleno plate and crispy chicken taco. All were excellent in our opinion. We will definitely go back. Rice and refried beans are really good as well.

Downontheperryfarm about 2 months ago

Carne Asada Steak or Carnitas Pork

Friday is our special night to eat out but since the Corona virus, we can't but wanted to support this local business so we ordered food to pick up! Carne Asada Steak plate, ceviche and a fish taco with rice and beans. It was so delicious! I am a connoisseur of ceviche and try to find the best and this was the best! It was the right balance of flavors and plenty of cilantro. We look forward to ordering again soon on a Friday (or Tuesday) night! Thank you for staying open and working hard during this challenging time.

Shookmeridith about 2 months ago

El Mexicano Omelette

I love Mexican food so why not eat them for breakfast too? I had no complaints, the sides were just as good as the omelette. I recommend asking for extra cheese but that is just me. Thanks for a great breakfast great mex!

Julimartin322 about 2 months ago

Shrimp or Fish Taco

I LOVE the shrimp tacos! Every time I have a friend visit me in Newport Beach I bring them to Great Mex. Amazing food, amazing location by the beach!

Caitlyn about 2 months ago

The Slim Burrito

The slim burrito is my favorite all around breakfast meal! I live so close to the Costa Mesa location on Newport Blvd and I love to quick grab and go this delicious burrito before work! The amazing thing about GREAT MEX is that they are fast at delivering, always clean, have an amazing salsa bar, and their food is top noch quality in taste! (OH! And I never leave without getting horchata!!!) Thank you GREAT MEX for making Mexican food special for me!

Personfam about 2 months ago

California Burrito

Whenever I am away from home, the first meal I get is a California Burrito! I've never had any bad meals at great mex

Duswenson about 2 months ago

Fajita Combinado

Great combination chicken, beef, and shrimp. Great balance of flavor. I had to get a few extra tortillas as it was so good. The chips and homemade salsa really made the whole meal scrumptious. Thank you.

Jforjords 2 months ago

California Burrito

The California burrito is amazing and reasonably priced. Love this place

Jenny 2 months ago

Carne Asada Fries

The Carne Asada is always really good nice and tender and the toppings melt perfectly on the crispy fries. Nice and big enough to share.

Debra 2 months ago

Carnitas Plate

They are the greatest. So easy to order and pick up in 10 to 15 minutes! Great food as always!

Monetalysha 2 months ago

Mexican Tacos

I like to come on taco tuesday, or Friday. the tacos are tasty and really economical. A good meal for a good price.

Savannah 3 months ago

Shrimp Quesadillas

I love the shrimp quesadilla! A perfect mix between savory with a little touch of seafood! Melts in your mouth! If you like shrimp and cheese the shrimp quesadilla is a MUST TRY!

Monikawrites 3 months ago

Ceviche Tostada

Love this! Tough to find a decent ceviche tostada and this one is worthy. Generous potion of fish & shrimp ( I order mixed) and sliced avocado make this my go - to. Yummy!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

May 2020:
Coming Soon

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA