Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Great Mex Grill. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Debra 2 days ago

Carnitas Plate

They are the greatest. So easy to order and pick up in 10 to 15 minutes! Great food as always!

Monetalysha 4 days ago

Mexican Tacos

I like to come on taco tuesday, or Friday. the tacos are tasty and really economical. A good meal for a good price.

Savannah 9 days ago

Shrimp Quesadillas

I love the shrimp quesadilla! A perfect mix between savory with a little touch of seafood! Melts in your mouth! If you like shrimp and cheese the shrimp quesadilla is a MUST TRY!

Monikawrites 16 days ago

Ceviche Tostada

Love this! Tough to find a decent ceviche tostada and this one is worthy. Generous potion of fish & shrimp ( I order mixed) and sliced avocado make this my go - to. Yummy!

News4laurie 29 days ago

Soft Taco

We love the soft tacos. Chicken tastes great & we'll mix it up with beef, hard shells, etc and swap as a family. Yummy tacos that hit the spot.

Blakebehle about 1 month ago

Soft Taco

Excellent food and service! Been eating here for over 10 years always a my first option for mexican.

Rector about 2 months ago

Huevos Rancheros

Great traditional rendition of a Mexican classic- I added carnitas and it was absolutely delicious!! I have ordered other things here and have enjoyed it all!! Love the salsa bar!

Woodycali about 2 months ago

1 Egg

Best breakfast burrito in Costa Mesa, no question Their fresh salsa is incredible, love it

Diane 2 months ago

Ham, Bacon, Sausage Omelette

Ham and cheese omelettes are the best. Comes with homefries which are seasoned to perfection. I ask for the veggies in the homefries to be cooked, well done (never a problem).. Add some of their hot salsa, and it's on!

Pg2143 2 months ago

Mexi Burritos

Delicious!!will definitely be coming back:)

Shellykaimono 3 months ago

California Burrito

Beautiful california carni,asada grench fry burrito. Guackamoliand sour cream make it smooth and rich. The flour tortilla is stuffed as it wraps the quality i ingrediants. It could be a share amoung a date as it is plentyfull, bit i enjoyed the entirty.

Cag763 3 months ago

Shrimp or Fish Taco

These are, by far, the best shrimp tacos for the price. Plenty of shrimp and great flavor. Our go to spot for amazing, inexpensive Mexican food.

Ginatooch 3 months ago

Your choice of Enchiladas

The cheese enchiladas at Great Mex are my favorite food ever! I've been in love with them for years ♡

Chandlera18 4 months ago

Breakfast Sandwich

After going to the beach early in the morning. A hot breakfast sandwich with a side of hash browns always hits the spot!! Been going here for years. I would write a review for everything on the menu because it's so good, but the breakfast sandwich is my favorite!! Great mex is a must try if you are down on the peninsula.

Photogsherry 4 months ago

California Burrito

This burrito has such an incredible mix of flavors that is sure to please someone who is hesitant to try a burrito.

Xkorinaaaa 4 months ago

Crispy Taco

Their crispy tacos are bomb!

William 4 months ago

Mexican Tacos

My staff and I from CSULB always come here. I have been in love with this place for years and always stop in for basically anything on the menu. Well, I stopped by there last night.  Man if you have not been there you are missing out. The interior is clean & has a good vibe with a modern theme. Seating is roomy & there is an outdoor area.  The chips are good and the salsa is great!  Homemade salsa definitely.  The meat in tacos is flavored perfectly & super tender. The tortilla soup has way too much chicken as this can be a meal in its self !  The soup has potatoes, carrots, tons of good chicken, Monterey Jack cheese and the broth is excellent with a hint of cumin.  The Mexican rice is cooked & flavored perfectly. Rice is fluffy & perfectly cooked, just enough tomatoe sauce and the perfect amount of cumin & caldo de pollo.  Good texture, pork taste good and good balance of masa vs meat.  I had the tomatillo sauce, I know my Mexican food and this place is legit! I will definitely be back to try many other items on the menu, especially the shrimp & ceviche cocktail.   Go Lakers!

Matthewpfeinstein 4 months ago

Chimis

Excellent food. The chimis had a nice crisp to them and the chicken was exceptional. The space is small but the food makes up for it! Their menu is pretty large which allows for ample choices!

Sandracamacho84 4 months ago

Tortas

Their tortas are really tasty, it was made quick, nice and hot. The side of fries really add on to the dish and brings it all together. I really recommend trying their torta on your next visit.

Korezzy21 5 months ago

California Burrito

I first had a California burrito in San Diego and then came to this place in Long Beach and it was so much better! I'm coming back to visit next week and can not wait to stop here again !

Arctic1865 3 days ago

Cheese Chile Relleno

Love all their food. Always great and friendly staff. So many goods choices.

Sarah 6 days ago

With shrimp or grilled Mahi-mahi fish

Grilled fish burrito is delicious! Spicy and fresh, packed with flavor. Get it every time, never disappoints!

Hoffandfriends 11 days ago

Shrimp or Fish Taco

One of the best tacos I have ever had. The baja sauce and shrimps are so good. Go on Taco Tuesday and Taco Friday and load up with every taco there is. Make sure you get the crispy shredded beef too. Enjoy with cheap beer and the best company (servers and Billy Joe Armstrong). Shoutout to Veronique!

Markh 28 days ago

Shrimp Burrito

Simple the best!!

Daparakeet about 1 month ago

Cheese

This is for the cheese quesadilla but I can't find that specifically on the list This is delicious and they always accommodate my request to leave off the sides

Mosa1231 about 1 month ago

Crispy Taco

Love, love, love the amazing food! I drive from Huntington Beach to eat here. So many favorites but I love their crispy chicken tacos. The chicken seasoning is yummy and they don't skimp on filling the crispy shell!! Definitely my favorite Mexican restaurant!

Sister Adriane about 2 months ago

Fajita Burrito

It was so delicious! The meat was so tender and the service was outstanding! Thank you!!

Charliejandri about 2 months ago

Soft or Crispy Taco- choose one

Amazing tacos! the tacos are really juicy and have really good flavor and the workers are so nice and kind and truly care for there customers! I go to greatmex all the time and it is one of my and many others favorite restaurants truly amazing and I love my greatmex friends!

Virtroid 2 months ago

Fajita Burrito

Super good and filling never had a bad one

Gloriuse 3 months ago

Chile Cheese Rellenos

The Long Beach Great Mex Grill is my favorite of Mexican eateries to eat at. The flavor of the food at this location is consistent and that is what keeps me returning to this location and wanting to tell all my friends how good the food is. My husband works at the VA hospital in Long Beach and I have to blame him for this new found craving because he introduced me to Great Mex.. Thumbs up👍 all the way..

Ajaxx 3 months ago

Breakfast Sandwich

I live 500 feet from great mex on newport Blvd and Wilson's and order this nearly everyday for breakfast. Always amazing, and quick with a very friendly staff!

Jbarrysb 3 months ago

California Burrito

Best burrito in all of south county!

Cameronmonzon 4 months ago

Fajita Burrito

The Fajita Burrito was delicious. I appreciate large portions and this burrito is spot on.

Abergum4 4 months ago

Fajita Burrito

Can't go wrong with any of their burritos! I've tried a variety of things from here, but the burritos are always my favorite! I always get either the fajita burrito or the crane asada burrito and it never disappoints. Good portion and great price!

Sdavila1620 4 months ago

California Burrito

It was so good! Asking for an add on of beans inside the burrito makes it extra delicious. It's definitely a guilty pleasure of mine- especially since I try not to eat red meat often!

Photogsherry 4 months ago

Bean Burrito

The beans are the best I've ever had. I can eat the Great Mex bean burrito every single day and not get tired of it. The pico de gallo makes it absolutely delightful!

William 4 months ago

Carne Asada Plate

My staff and I from CSULB always come here. I have been in love with this place for years and always stop in for basically anything on the menu. Well, I stopped by there last night.  Man if you have not been there you are missing out. The interior is clean & has a good vibe with a modern theme. Seating is roomy & there is an outdoor area.  The chips are good and the salsa is great!  Homemade salsa definitely.  The meat in tacos is flavored perfectly & super tender. The tortilla soup has way too much chicken as this can be a meal in its self !  The soup has potatoes, carrots, tons of good chicken, Monterey Jack cheese and the broth is excellent with a hint of cumin.  The Mexican rice is cooked & flavored perfectly. Rice is fluffy & perfectly cooked, just enough tomatoe sauce and the perfect amount of cumin & caldo de pollo.  Good texture, pork taste good and good balance of masa vs meat.  I had the tomatillo sauce, I don't like the Tex-Mex chili con carne. I know my Mexican food and this place is legit! I will definitely be back to try many other items on the menu, especially the shrimp & ceviche cocktail.   Go Lakers!

Stephenschnack 4 months ago

Soft Taco

I had the Pollo tacos and they were delicious. Soft moist premium chicken, seasoned to perfection... I threw in some chips and helped myself to the salsa bar. Some carrots, pepper, and tons of salsa later, I am a VERY happy camper. Thank you Great Mex!

Sunnyjgoldberg 5 months ago

Bean and Cheese Burrito

Tried Great Mex on a friends suggestion and it did not disappoint! We've already been here 3 times and have ordered take-out from the Newport location twice. From bean and cheese burritos (my number 1) to taco Tuesday tacos to carne Asada fries, everything has been tasty! The food is great, the service is great, and this has become our go-to for Mexican food!

Jennamaybee03 5 months ago

Chips and 8 oz. Salsa

We work next door and always order the chicken soup. Its the best always done within 5-10 mins.



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

February 2020
Coming Soon

January 2020
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA