Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Great Mex Grill. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Diane 3 days ago

Ham, Bacon, Sausage Omelette

Ham and cheese omelettes are the best. Comes with homefries which are seasoned to perfection. I ask for the veggies in the homefries to be cooked, well done (never a problem).. Add some of their hot salsa, and it's on!

Pg2143 8 days ago

Mexi Burritos

Delicious!!will definitely be coming back:)

Shellykaimono 22 days ago

California Burrito

Beautiful california carni,asada grench fry burrito. Guackamoliand sour cream make it smooth and rich. The flour tortilla is stuffed as it wraps the quality i ingrediants. It could be a share amoung a date as it is plentyfull, bit i enjoyed the entirty.

Cag763 25 days ago

Shrimp or Fish Taco

These are, by far, the best shrimp tacos for the price. Plenty of shrimp and great flavor. Our go to spot for amazing, inexpensive Mexican food.

Ginatooch about 1 month ago

Your choice of Enchiladas

The cheese enchiladas at Great Mex are my favorite food ever! I've been in love with them for years ♡

Chandlera18 about 2 months ago

Breakfast Sandwich

After going to the beach early in the morning. A hot breakfast sandwich with a side of hash browns always hits the spot!! Been going here for years. I would write a review for everything on the menu because it's so good, but the breakfast sandwich is my favorite!! Great mex is a must try if you are down on the peninsula.

Photogsherry about 2 months ago

California Burrito

This burrito has such an incredible mix of flavors that is sure to please someone who is hesitant to try a burrito.

Xkorinaaaa about 2 months ago

Crispy Taco

Their crispy tacos are bomb!

William 2 months ago

Mexican Tacos

My staff and I from CSULB always come here. I have been in love with this place for years and always stop in for basically anything on the menu. Well, I stopped by there last night.  Man if you have not been there you are missing out. The interior is clean & has a good vibe with a modern theme. Seating is roomy & there is an outdoor area.  The chips are good and the salsa is great!  Homemade salsa definitely.  The meat in tacos is flavored perfectly & super tender. The tortilla soup has way too much chicken as this can be a meal in its self !  The soup has potatoes, carrots, tons of good chicken, Monterey Jack cheese and the broth is excellent with a hint of cumin.  The Mexican rice is cooked & flavored perfectly. Rice is fluffy & perfectly cooked, just enough tomatoe sauce and the perfect amount of cumin & caldo de pollo.  Good texture, pork taste good and good balance of masa vs meat.  I had the tomatillo sauce, I know my Mexican food and this place is legit! I will definitely be back to try many other items on the menu, especially the shrimp & ceviche cocktail.   Go Lakers!

Matthewpfeinstein 2 months ago

Chimis

Excellent food. The chimis had a nice crisp to them and the chicken was exceptional. The space is small but the food makes up for it! Their menu is pretty large which allows for ample choices!

Sandracamacho84 2 months ago

Tortas

Their tortas are really tasty, it was made quick, nice and hot. The side of fries really add on to the dish and brings it all together. I really recommend trying their torta on your next visit.

Korezzy21 3 months ago

California Burrito

I first had a California burrito in San Diego and then came to this place in Long Beach and it was so much better! I'm coming back to visit next week and can not wait to stop here again !

Kimelliottdq 3 months ago

Shrimp or Fish Taco

Super delicious grilled fish tacos.! Good size portions. This is my new favorite place to eat.

Hmmhjr 3 months ago

Bacon, Avocado with Cheese Omelette

Soooo good. The people are awesome that work there and the food is really good. The atmosphere is local beach hangout!

Yorkmikaela 3 months ago

Soft or Crispy Taco- choose one

I always come in for soft ground beef tacos here bc they're one of the only places that do flour tortillas for tacos!! I love their food. I've also had tamales and enchiladas from there; just as delicious. Busy sometimes but the employees are always friendly.

Wyattmarkrobertson 3 months ago

Ham, Sausage or Bacon Burritos

Whenever I come home to visit Costa Mesa or Newport Beach, this is the *only* food I make sure I get every time. I've shown every person I bring to this area how good these breakfast burritos are, and I've never been disappointed.

Avamonroze 3 months ago

Mexican Tacos

Great Mex Grill is my favorite place to get crunchy tacos, my personal favorite - chicken. By far the best Mexican restaurant in OC for Taco Tuesday.

Rachel 4 months ago

Crispy Taco

I love great mex because the staff is always welcoming. Its always clean. The salsa bar is my favorite one in town!!! Not to expensive.. and most of all EXTREMELY TASTY!!!

Arielannette 4 months ago

California Burrito

The California Burrito is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! I had one and was NOT disappointed. The ingredients were fresh and everything was cooked perfectly. I can't wait to come back for another this week!

Ronanco 4 months ago

Shrimp or Fish Taco

Great flavor & a kick to it. Must order every time we eat there! All the food is good with great quick service! Best value for the money!!

Virtroid 8 days ago

Fajita Burrito

Super good and filling never had a bad one

Gloriuse 19 days ago

Chile Cheese Rellenos

The Long Beach Great Mex Grill is my favorite of Mexican eateries to eat at. The flavor of the food at this location is consistent and that is what keeps me returning to this location and wanting to tell all my friends how good the food is. My husband works at the VA hospital in Long Beach and I have to blame him for this new found craving because he introduced me to Great Mex.. Thumbs up👍 all the way..

Ajaxx 25 days ago

Breakfast Sandwich

I live 500 feet from great mex on newport Blvd and Wilson's and order this nearly everyday for breakfast. Always amazing, and quick with a very friendly staff!

Jbarrysb 26 days ago

California Burrito

Best burrito in all of south county!

Cameronmonzon about 1 month ago

Fajita Burrito

The Fajita Burrito was delicious. I appreciate large portions and this burrito is spot on.

Abergum4 about 2 months ago

Fajita Burrito

Can't go wrong with any of their burritos! I've tried a variety of things from here, but the burritos are always my favorite! I always get either the fajita burrito or the crane asada burrito and it never disappoints. Good portion and great price!

Sdavila1620 about 2 months ago

California Burrito

It was so good! Asking for an add on of beans inside the burrito makes it extra delicious. It's definitely a guilty pleasure of mine- especially since I try not to eat red meat often!

Photogsherry about 2 months ago

Bean Burrito

The beans are the best I've ever had. I can eat the Great Mex bean burrito every single day and not get tired of it. The pico de gallo makes it absolutely delightful!

William 2 months ago

Carne Asada Plate

My staff and I from CSULB always come here. I have been in love with this place for years and always stop in for basically anything on the menu. Well, I stopped by there last night.  Man if you have not been there you are missing out. The interior is clean & has a good vibe with a modern theme. Seating is roomy & there is an outdoor area.  The chips are good and the salsa is great!  Homemade salsa definitely.  The meat in tacos is flavored perfectly & super tender. The tortilla soup has way too much chicken as this can be a meal in its self !  The soup has potatoes, carrots, tons of good chicken, Monterey Jack cheese and the broth is excellent with a hint of cumin.  The Mexican rice is cooked & flavored perfectly. Rice is fluffy & perfectly cooked, just enough tomatoe sauce and the perfect amount of cumin & caldo de pollo.  Good texture, pork taste good and good balance of masa vs meat.  I had the tomatillo sauce, I don't like the Tex-Mex chili con carne. I know my Mexican food and this place is legit! I will definitely be back to try many other items on the menu, especially the shrimp & ceviche cocktail.   Go Lakers!

Stephenschnack 2 months ago

Soft Taco

I had the Pollo tacos and they were delicious. Soft moist premium chicken, seasoned to perfection... I threw in some chips and helped myself to the salsa bar. Some carrots, pepper, and tons of salsa later, I am a VERY happy camper. Thank you Great Mex!

Sunnyjgoldberg 3 months ago

Bean and Cheese Burrito

Tried Great Mex on a friends suggestion and it did not disappoint! We've already been here 3 times and have ordered take-out from the Newport location twice. From bean and cheese burritos (my number 1) to taco Tuesday tacos to carne Asada fries, everything has been tasty! The food is great, the service is great, and this has become our go-to for Mexican food!

Jennamaybee03 3 months ago

Chips and 8 oz. Salsa

We work next door and always order the chicken soup. Its the best always done within 5-10 mins.

Kimelliottdq 3 months ago

Soft Taco

Super delicious grilled fish taco! Good size portions. Friendly staff. I love mexican food, this is my new favorite place to eat.

Cldonovan 3 months ago

2 Shrimp or Mahi Enchiladas Plate

I had not been to Great Mex in some time, and we decided to drop by for something different. Everybody enjoyed the food, mostly burritos. The mahi I had was absolutely fabulous.

Hmmhjr 3 months ago

Breakfast Sandwich

Everything I have ever had at this location has been wonderful. The service is with a smile and the people call the locals by name. They even know what they like! The ambience is ... well ... It's a small hole in the wall steps from the beach ... My kinda place

Garciadesiree07 3 months ago

Soft or Crispy Taco- choose one

I've gone here a couple times for their Taco Tuesdays. Now, let me just say, I'm EXTREMELY picky when it comes to Mexican food and more specifically tacos. Their crispy tacos are the best and I would also highly recommend the soft tacos. Get a few plus their $1.50 beer and you are good to go!

Jane 3 months ago

Mushroom Taco

Mushroom taco is the best, particularly on taco Tuesday. Also love the crispy tacos and salsa hits the spot.

Raven 4 months ago

The Slim Burrito

My favorite item on the menu (and I've tried a lot of them)! Perfectly portioned, super healthy and overall just bomb.com. It may be weird but I get this with shrimp added to it. Their shrimp is perfectly seasoned and always worth it! They're generous with their portion sizes. Friendly service, delicious food (which you can see cooked in front of you) and an amazing salsa bar. There's a reason they're always so busy! This is a delicious choice.

Jessaivie 4 months ago

Crispy Taco

Great mex has the best crispy tacos! We love the shredded beef in them the most. We live down the street and love riding our bikes here to get an order of them to go and a churro on the side. Their salsa Verde is delicious and they have a great salsa bar!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

December:
Coming soon

November:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co., Portland, OR

September:
Amanda, Home Restaurant, Los Angeles, CA

August:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill - Columbus, GA

July:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet - Buffalo, NY

June:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar - Cape Cod, MA

May:
Karen, This Little Pig - Amherst, NY

April:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria - Atlanta, GA